Committee on MDAs Structural Review Submits Report

Committee on MDAs Structural Review Submits Report

ABUJA (OHCSF Press Report) –

The Committee on the Review of the Structure of Ministries Departments and Agencies in the Federal Civil Service has submitted its report to the Acting Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Winifred Ekanem Oyo-Ita.

While receiving the report recently, the Acting Head of the Civil Service of the Federation thanked the members of the committee for the good job executed on time, noting that the committee which is made up of former top functionaries and serving Senior Civil Servants has indeed brought its wealth of experience to bear in the final report.

The HOS added that the structure of the service had to be reviewed, in order to guide the Ministers and Departments, particularly those merged in view of their new scopes and responsibilities. She assured the members that the report will be forwarded to the President for his study and further directives.

Speaking earlier, the Chairman of the Committee, Ebele Okeke (Engr) called on the Federal Government to review the enabling acts of some merged administrative bodies which may have consequences for the mergers. She further noted that the committee has suggested that the most Senior Directors in some merged Departments in some Ministries be designated Coordinating Director to ensure coordination and synergy.

Other recommendations of the committee include: the professionalization of the Human Resource Management Department in all Ministries for effective performance. “In order to forge a closer link between planning and budgeting, the committee recommended that planning research and statistics should be renamed Department of Planning, Budget, Research and Statistics,” she stated.

Ebele Okeke also thanked the Head of Service and the Federal Government for giving them the opportunity to serve once again.

The committee which was inaugurated on the 17th of November 2015 has 16 members comprising four former Heads of Service, five former Permanent Secretaries and five serving Permanent Secretaries.

Share This


Wordpress (0)