EFCC Lauds British Govt Support on Anti Graft War

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commissions, EFCC, has lauded the support the Commission had received over the years from the British government in its drive to purge Nigeria of corruption.
Ibrahim Magu EFCC Chairman

Ibrahim Magu, EFCC Ag.Chairman

Ibrahim Magu, acting Chairman, EFCC, made the commendation on Wednesday, March 2, 2016 while receiving a delegation from UK under the aegis of Parliamentary Committee on International Development who were on a visit to the Commission’s head office, Abuja.
Going down the memory lane, Magu pointed out that, the first funds received by the Commission was actually gotten from the British government and that the fund was instrumental in the building of the EFCC Academy.
According to him, it was because of the unwavering support of the UK that other countries were encouraged to come and partner with the EFCC.
The anti graft czar added that, the British government’s support gave the Commission the courage to touch the “untouchables” in Nigeria.
While commending President Buhari for his political will in fighting corruption, Magu also expressed delight over the Commission’s relationships with other countries in Africa and beyond which he said had made it almost impossible for corrupt element to escape justice.
The EFCC boss however solicited more support in the area of capacity building in order to be abreast of the modern trends in investigation of corruption cases.
Speaking earlier, the leader of the delegation, Stephen Twigg, expressed satisfaction over the activities of the Commission in the fight against corruption and encouraged it to be steadfast in its vision to make Nigeria a corrupt free nation.

Twigg said that, they were in the Commission to find out how they can be of help and to have a spot assessment of the ongoing project at the permanent site of the EFCC.
On the visit were: Jeremy Lefroy, member of the Parliament for Stafford Constituency; Wendy Morton,  member of parliament for Aldridge Brownhills and Viendra Sharma, memeber of Parliament for Ealing Southall. Others are Helen Pruant MP, Dr Lisa Cameron MP, Albert Owen MP and Steven Ayres.
Share This


Wordpress (0)