Rio Olympics: Nigeria D’Tigers, Only Team To Represent Africa

Rio Olympics: Nigeria D’Tigers, Only Team To Represent Africa

The Olympic Games in Rio will see 12 countries line up. Hosts Brazil will be joined by 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup winners USA, as well as by Nigeria (AfroBasket 2015 winners), Venezuela and Argentina (2015 FIBA Americas Championship winners and runners-up), China (2015 FIBA Asia Championship winners), Spain and Lithuania (EuroBasket 2015 winners and runners-up) and Australia (2015 FIBA Oceania Championship winners).

Nigeria who ranks 38 on FIBA Ranking has been drawn under Group B of the Men’s Olympic Basketball Tournament along side host Brazil, Lithuania: runners-up of the EuroBasket 2015, Argentina: runners-up of the 2015 FIBA Americas Championship.

Other members of the Group are Spain: winners of the EuroBasket 2015 and Croatia.

Nigeria will begin its Olympic Basketball campaign against Argentina on Sunday 7 August 2016 in Rio de Janeiro, Carioca Arena 1, followed by games against Lithuania and Spain on the 9th and 11th of August 2016 respectively.

The 2016 Olympic Basketball Tournament will take place in Rio from 05 to 21 August 2016.

Share This


Wordpress (0)