Senate directs National Assembly Service Commission to withdraw Omolori’s appointment as Acting Clerk

nigerias-national-assembly-in-abujaThe office of the senate president has asked the chairman of the the national assembly service commission to withdraw the appointment of Mr Sani Omolori as the acting clerk of the national assembly, citing that due process was not followed in the appointment. Here is a copy of the letter made available to the media.



21st April, 2016

The Chairman National Assembly Service Commission
TOS Benson Street, Utako,

Withdrawal of Letter of Appointment of Acting Clerk of National Assembly

We present to you the compliments of the President of the Senate and Chairman of the National Assembly, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, CON. Please recall that during your last meeting with the Senate President on April 20, 2016, the procedure of the appointment of the Acting Clerk of the National Assembly was discussed.

The Commission was directed to follow due process and ensure that seniority is adhered to. Of course, Mr Benedict Efeturi who is Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly (DCNA) and who has previously acted as the Clerk of the National Assembly should be the first to be considered.

Most importantly, you have been directed to confer with the Senate President the outcome of the Commission’s meeting before letter of appointment is issued and regrettably that did not happen.

The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives were informed that Mr. Efeturi was not considered for the appointment because he was not duly appointed as Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly. On further enquiry, we found he was duly appointed by the National Assembly Service Commission.

Consequently, I am directed by His Excellency, the Senate President, to inform you that the letter appointing Mr Sani Omolori as Acting Clerk of the National Assembly be withdrawn immediately for further consultations.

Please accept the assurances of my warmest regards.

Sen. Isa Galaudu
Chief of Staff to the Senate President

Share This


Wordpress (0)