National Population Commission Gets Five New Commissioners

(VON) Acting President Yemi Osinbajo has sworn-in five new Commissioners for the National Population Commission, NPC.


Prof. Yemi Osinbajo

The swearing-in ceremony took place at the Council Chambers of the
Presidential Villa, Abuja, shortly before the commencement of the
Federal Executive Council meeting.

Those sworn-in include Dr Eyitayo Oyetunji from Oyo State, Engr.
Benedict Ukpong – Akwa Ibom, Haliru Bala – Kebbi, Patricia Kupchi – Benue
and Mrs Gloria Izonfuo, from Bayelsa State.

The Commissioners were nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari and recently cleared by the Senate in line with constitutional provisions.

Speaking to Voice of Nigeria one of the Commissioners, Dr Eyitayo
Oyetunji said he will contribute his quota towards attaining an
acceptable population figure for the country.

“It’s a privilege to serve the country in that capacity. You know the vision of his administration is to bring about change and the
population is both the agent and object of change. For you to have any meaningful change, you must have adequate information about the population. Therefore you must have a correct, acceptable and reliable data and my vision is to contribute and support other members of the NPC towards achieving that,”
he said.

Source (VON)


Share This


Wordpress (0)