Obasanjo to chair LASU 22nd convocation lecture

Chief Olusegun Obasanjo to chair Lasu 22nd convocation lecture
Chief Olusegun Obasanjo to chair Lasu 22nd convocation lecture

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo is to chair the 22nd Convocation Lecture of the Lagos State University (LASU) as the institution plans students’ graduation  for May 23 and May 24.

The university’s Spokesman, Mr Adekoya Martins,  made the disclosure in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Friday.

Martins said that arrangements  for 2016/2017 Convocation were in top gear.

He said that Obasanjo would  be the Chairman of the Convocation Lecture to be delivered on May 22 by Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, Executive Secretary, National Universities Commission.

According to the spokesman, the lecture is entitled: “Role of Education in Promoting Social Cohesion and Peace: Opportunities and Challenges for Nigeria”.

He noted that LASU held convocations in March, saying that the 2018 edition was rescheduled due a nationwide strike by non-academic university workers.

the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), the National Association Academic Technologists (NAAT) and the Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU)   embarked on an indefinite strike on December 4, 2017  under the aegis of Joint Action Committee (JAC).

The union blamed the strike on government’s non-implementation of some parts of  an agreement it had with JAC on Sept.  20, 2017.

Following understanding JAC had with agreement the government, the workers, however, suspended the strike on March 15.

Martins told said that activities heralding the convocation would begin on May 17.

the convocation cup competition for staff would take place on May 17, Jumat service, May 18 and a special thanksgiving service, May 20.

There will be Coconut Breaking Festival and  command performance on May 21, according to Martins.

The official told NAN that award of first degrees in all faculties would take place on May 23 while higher degrees and honorary doctorate degrees would be awarded on May 24.

Share This


Wordpress (0)