Be guided by the constitution- CJN tells new judges of industrial court

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen on Friday in Abuja, charged 19 new judges of the National Industrial Court to be guided by the constitution in their dispensation of justice.

new judges of industrial court

Justice Walter Onnoghen
Chief Justice of Nigeria

The Chief Justice gave the charge at the swearing-in ceremony of the judges at the Supreme Court in Abuja.

He urged the newly sworn-in judges to be strengthened by the oath of allegiance and pledge to the country.

“Always be guided by the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and the law as you have pledged to preserve and defend the constitution.

“If you allow yourselves to be guided by the provisions of the constitution, which is the supreme law, you can never go wrong.

“I assure you that as judicial officials, if you remain true to the oath of office you have just taken and the constitution, then you have all you need to function in that office.

“Be on the side of the law, you can never fail; be on the side of the law and posterity will find you right; use your conscience, be true to God and yourself,’’ he said.

While welcoming the judges to the bench, Onnoghen urged them to be humble and reach out to justices of the Supreme Court and other senior officials for directions when needed.

He congratulated them for sailing through the rigorous processes for approval and subsequent appointment as judges.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that among the 19 judges of the National Industrial Court sworn-in, five are female.

The new judges are: Targema John (Benue), Namtari Mahmood (Adamawa), Nweneka Ikechi (Rivers), Kado Sanusi (Katsina State), Adeniyi Oluyinka (Ogun), Abiola Adewemimo (Osun), Opeloye Ogunbowale (Lagos State), Essien Jeremiah (Akwa-Ibom).

Others are: Elizabeth Oji (Ebonyi), Arowosegbe Ojo (Ondo State), Ogbuanya Chukwudi (Enugu State), Bashir Zaynab (Niger), Galadima Suleiman (Nasarawa State), Bassi Ahmed (Borno), Danjidda Hamisu (Kano State), Hamman Polycarp (Taraba), Damulak Dashe (Plateau), Alkali Attahiru (Sokoto State) and Mustapha Tijjani (Jigawa). (NAN)

Share This


Wordpress (0)