Yahaya Bello of APC is Kogi’s Governor-Elect

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Mr Yahaya Bello of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of Kogi governorship election.



Bello scored 247,762 votes to defeat the incumbent Governor, Idris Wada of the Peoples Democratic Party, who polled 204,877 votes.

The Returning Officer of the governorship election, Prof. Emmanuel Kucha, declared the results in Lokoja after the conclusion of the supplementary election held in 91 polling units.

He said the results were a merger of the election held on Nov. 21 and the supplementary poll conducted in 91 polling units on Dec. 5.

“The results of the supplementary election shows that the APC scored 6,885 votes, while PDP got 5,363 votes.

“Only 13,000 out of the 49,000 registered voters expected to vote in the supplementary election turned out for accreditation and voting,” he said.

Kucha said out of the 494,723 votes cast during the exercise, only 21,740 were invalidated.

The returning officer described the election as peaceful and successful.

Mr Mumuni Okara, agent of the APC at the collation centre, described the results as satisfactory, saying that the declared results tallied what the party’s agents had obtained from the various polling units.

Capt. Joe Agada (rtd), who represented the PDP at the collation centre, however, said his party would challenge the results at the tribunal

Original Source -NAN

Share This


Wordpress (0)