Election Petition Tribunal Declares Adeleke Winner of Osun Election

The Osun state Election Petition Tribunal has declared Senator Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as the winner of the 2018 governorship in the state.

The 3-man tribunal upheld the petitions filed by Adeleke and the PDP, challenging the victory of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Governor Gboyega Oyetola at the governorship election.

A three -member panel of the tribunal , dismissed the objections filed by Gov. Oyetola, APC and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). Both Adeleke and the PDP in their different petitions had urged the tribunal to declared that he scored the highest lawful votes in the election and should be declared as winner.

The PDP Canddidate, Adeleke and party, had filed a petition asking the tribunal to declare that he polled the highest lawful votes and should be declared the winner.

But Oyetola, APC and INEC had filed their notices of preliminary objection contending among others that the petition was incompetent and that the court lacked jurisdiction.

The tribunal ruled that the certificate of return issued to Oyetola of the APC be withdrawn and a new one given to Senator Ademola.

Share This


Wordpress (0)