Governor’s Cup Football Competition: Damaturu Aglow in Yobe Governor’s Cup Football Final .


npfl ball


The Damaturu Township Stadium, also called August 27th Stadium, was capacity-full today as Gujba United FC and Ajari FC play the final of the Governor’s Cup Football Competition.

Fourty teams from across Yobe State slugged it out in the competition, which started back in November 2016 in what is a clear sign of the return of relative peace following Boko Haram’s campaign of terror.

Today’s final was graced by H.E Gov. Ibrahim Gaidam and other dignitaries, including his deputy Engr. Abubakar D. Ali, Asembly Speaker Adamu Dala Dogo, State Chief Judge Justice Garba Musa Nabaruma, Super Eagles Coach, Salisu Yusuf and Nigeria Football Federation (NFF)’s head of referees unit, Sani Zubairu.

The action-packed final was 1-1 at full time. A third round of penalty shootout later broke the tie with Gujba United finishing at a total of 12 goals against Ajari FC’s 11.


Image may contain: one or more people, people sitting and beard

“The Governor’s Cup and other competitions are being organised to expose the talent of our youths to private and public sporting institutions and organisations”, Governor Gaidam said in a speech shortly before handing out medals and prizes to winners at the event. “It is also a way of enhancing the spirit of mutual understanding, trust, and cooperation among our various local governments and communities in the State”, he said

The governor stressed the significance that the State Government attaches to sports, calling out specific measures and steps that his administration has taken to advance the development of sports.

H.E Governor Gaidam commended the Sports Council for organising the tournament and congratulated and commended the winners and runners-up of the Governor’s Cup competition.

Gujba United won a Gold Medal and a cash prize of N1.5 million while Ajari FC got a Silver and one million naira in cash prize. Potiskum Academy, which was in third place, was given a cash prize of N500, 000.00.

All three prizes were presented to the winners by H.E the governor

Source: Yobe State Govt

Share This


Wordpress (0)