Buhari Names Railway Stations After Prominent Nigerians

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the naming of some railway  stations along Lagos -Ibadan corridor and others on Itakpe /Ajaokuta /Aladja-Warri after some deserving Nigerian citizens.

Minister of Transportation Rt.Hon.Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi disclosed this through a statement by the Ministry’s Director of Press, Eric Ojiekwe.

The statement noted that the deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.

According to the statement, for the Lagos-Ibadan with extension to the Lagos Port Complex, Apapa rail line, the beneficiaries are: Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu ( Apapa station), Brigadier- General, Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Babatunde Raji Fashola ( Agege station), Alhaji Lateef Jakande ( Agbado station) and Prof.Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola station).

Others are: Chief Funmilayo Ransom Kuti (Papalanto station), Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station), Chief Segun Osoba (Olodo station), Chief Ladoke Samuel Akintola (Omio-Adio station) Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station) and Chief Alex Ekwueme ( Operation Control Centre, Ebute Meta).

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the names are: Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station), Dr.  Abubakar Olusola Saraki (Ajaokuta station), Vice Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station), Brigadier General George Agbazika Innih (Agenebode station), Chief Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station), Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station) and Brigadier General Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia, rtd, (Igbanke station).

Others according to the statement include: Goodluck Ebele Jonathan
( Agbor station complex), Major General David Ejoor (Abraka station),  Olorogun Micheal Ibru (Opara station), Pa Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station) and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe, rtd (Railway village ,Agbor).

Signed: Eric Ojiekwe
Director, Press and Public Relation
July 27, 2020

Share This


Wordpress (0)